State and National Contacts

Contacts in Kansas

Independent Living Centers
State Disability Organizations
Assistive Technology Resources
Disability-Specific Organizations
Family Organizations
Organizations for Children
Mentoring Programs
Adapted Sports Organizations

 

National Resources 

National Disability Organizations
Youth Disability Organizations
Advocacy Organizations

 

Independent Living Centers
 

LINK, Inc.
2401 E. 13th
Hays, KS 67601
785-625-6942 (V/TDD)
785-625-2334 (FAX)
1-800-569-5926
Brian Atwell, Executive Director
brianatwell@linkinc.com

 

Independent Connection
1710 W. Schilling Rd.
Salina, KS 67401
785-827-9383 (V/TDD)
785-823-2015 (FAX)
1-800-526-9731
Shelia Nelson-Stout, Executive Director
nelsonsh@occk.com

 

Three Rivers, Inc.
PO Box 408, 504 Miller Dr.
Wamego, KS 66547
785-456-9915 (V/TDD)
785-456-9923 (FAX)
1-800-555-3994
Audrey Schremmer-Phillip, Executive Director
Audrey@threeriversinc.org

 

Topeka Independent Living Resource Center
501 S.W. Jackson, #100
Topeka, KS 66603
785-233-4572 (V/TDD)
785-233-1561 (FAX)
1-800-443-2207
Mike Oxford, Executive Director
tilrc@tilrc.org

 

Independence, Inc.
2001 Haskell
Lawrence, KS 66046
785-841-0333 (V)
785-841-1046 (TDD)
785-841-1094 (FAX)
1-888-824-7277
Stacey Hunter Schwartz, Executive Director
shschwartz@independenceinc.org

 

Coalition for Independence
4911 State Ave.
Kansas City, KS 66102
913-321-5140 (V)
913-321-5216 (TDD)
913-321-5182 (FAX)
1-866-201-3829
Clark Byron, Executive Director
cbyron@cfi-kc.org

 

The Whole Person
114 W. Gregory Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64114
816-561-0304 (V)
816-931-2202 (TDD)
816-753-8163 (FAX)
David Robinson, Executive Director
drobinson@thewholeperson.org

 

Resource Center for Independent Living
P.O. Box 257, 1137 Laing St.
Osage City, KS 66523
785-528-3105 (V)
785-528-3106 (TDD)
785-528-3665 (FAX)
1-800-580-7245
Chad Wilkins, Executive Director
chad@rcilinc.org

 

Independent Living Resource Center
3033 W. 2nd
Wichita, KS 67203
316-942-6300 (V/TDD)
316-942-6861 (FAX)
1-800-479-6861
Cindi Unruh, Executive Director
cunruh@ilrcks.org

 

Southeast Kansas Independent Living Center
P.O. Box 957, 1801 Main Street
Parsons, KS 67357
620-421-5502 (V)
620-421-6551 (TDD)
620-421-3705 (FAX)
1-800-688-5616
Shari Coatney, Executive Director
sharic@skilonline.com

 

Prairie Independent Living Resource Center
17 S. Main
Hutchinson, KS 67501
620-663-3989 (V)
620-663-9920 (TDD)
620-663-4711 (FAX)
1-888-715-6818
Chris Owens, Executive Director
cowens@pilr.org

 

Statewide Independent Living Council of Kansas (SILCK)
420 S.E. 6th Ave., Suite 2000
Topeka, KS 66607
785-234-6990
Kathy Cooper, Executive Director
Kathy.cooper@silck.org 

 

Kansas Association of Centers for Independent Living (KACIL)
PO Box 67208
Topeka, KS 66667
785-215-8048 Voice/TTY
785-215-8050 Fax
Rosie Cooper, Executive Director
rosie@kacil.org

 

back to top

 

State Disability Organizations
 

Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns
900 SW Jackson St. Room 100A
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1246
(800) 295-5232 Toll free
711 for Relay Service
Martha Gabehart, Executive Director
mgabehart@kcdcinfo.com
www.kcdcinfo.ks.gov

 

Disability Rights Center
635 SW Harrison, Suite 100
Topeka, KS 66603
(785) 273-9661; (877) 776-1541 (in KS only)
Rocky Nichols, Executive Director
info@drckansas.org
www.drckansas.org

 

Kansas Rehabilitation Services
Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services
3640 S.W. Topeka Boulevard, Suite 150
Topeka, KS 66611
(785) 267-5301
Mike Donnelly, Director
www.srskansas.org/rehab

 

Kansas State Department of Education- Special Education/Transition Services
Student Support Services- KSDE
120 S.E. 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612
Colleen Riley, Director
(785) 291-3097
Wendy Pickell, Education Program Consultant
(785) 296-7453
wpickell@ksde.org
www.ksde.org/Default.aspx?tabid=101 

 

The Big Tent Coalition
www.bigtentcoalition.org

 

Interhab
700 SW Jackson, Suite 803
Topeka, KS 66603
(785) 235-5103
Tom Laing, Executive Director
interhab@interhab.org
www.interhab.org

 

Kansas Council on Developmental Disabilities
Partners in Policymaking
Docking State Office Building, Room 141
915 S.W. Harrison Street
Topeka, KS 66612-1570
(785) 296-2608
Jane Rhys, Executive Director
jrhys@kcdd.org
Kim Strunk, Partners in Policymaking Coordinator
partnersinpolicy@kcdd.org
www.kcdd.org

 

back to top

 

Assistive Technology Resources
 

Kansas Assistive Technology Cooperative
625 Merchant, Suite 205
Emporia, Kansas 66801
(866) 465-2826 v/tty
(620) 341-9002 v/tty
E. Basil Kessler, Executive Director
basil@katco.net
www.katco.net

 

Assistive Technology for Kansans
800-526-3648
Sara Sack, Director
ssack@ku.edu
www.atk.ku.edu

 

back to top

 

Disability-Specific Organizations
 

Kansas Council on Developmental Disabilities
Docking State Office Building, Room 141
915 S.W. Harrison Street
Topeka, KS 66612-1570
(785) 296-2608
Jane Rhys, Executive Director
jrhys@kcdd.org
www.kcdd.org

 

Kansas University Center on Developmental Disabilities
University of Kansas
1052 Robert Dole Human Development Center
1000 Sunnyside Avenue
Lawrence, KS 66045
(785) 864-4295; (785) 864-5051 (TTY)
Michael Wehmeyer, Director
wehmeyer@ku.edu
www2.ku.edu/~kucdd/index.shtml

 

TARC
2701 S.W. Randolph
Topeka, KS 66611
(785) 232-0597
Mary Ann Keating, Executive Director
mkeating@tarcinc.org
www.tarcinc.org

 

Self-Advocate Coalition of Kansas
2518 Ridge Court #236
Lawrence, KS 66046
785-749-5588 (local)
1-888-354-7225 (toll free)
www.sackonline.org

 

Down Syndrome Guild of Greater Kansas City
10200 W. 75th Street, Suite 281
Shawnee Mission, KS 66204
(913) 384-4848
(913) 384-9898 24-hour Information Line
Amy Allison, Executive Director
info@kcdsg.org
www.kcdsg.org

 

Kansas State School for the Blind
1100 State Avenue
Kansas City, Kansas 66102
(913) 281-3308; (800) 572-5463
Madeleine Burkindine, Superintendent
www.kssb.net

 

Kansas Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Docking State Office Building, 9th Floor North
915 SW Harrison
Topeka, KS 66612
Toll-free V/TTY:  1-800-432-0698
Voice:  785-368-8034
TTY:  785-368-8046
Rebecca Rosenthal, Executive Director
Rebecca.Rosenthal@srs.ks.gov
www.srs.ks.gov/agency/rs/Pages/KCDHH/KCDHH.aspx

 

Cerebral Palsy Research Foundation of Kansas
5111 East 21st Street N.
Wichita, KS 67208
(316) 688-1888
fax (316) 688-5687
info@cprf.org
www.cprf.org

 

United Cerebral Palsy of Kansas
5111 E. 21st Street
Wichita, KS 67208
(316) 688-1888
Dave Jones, Executive Director
Davej@ucpks.org
www.ucp.org

 

Ms. Wheelchair Kansas
785-267-5982
Carrie Greenwood, State Coordinator
mswheelchairkansas@yahoo.com
www.mswheelchairkansas.org

 

Spina Bifida Kansas City
P.O. Box 1041
Belton, Missouri 64012
816.277.9087
info@sbkc.org
www.sbkc.org

 

NAMI Kansas
610 SW 10th Ave, Ste 203
Topeka, KS 66612
(785) 233-0755; (800) 539-2660
Rick Cagan, Executive Director
namikansas@nami.org
www.namikansas.org

 

Association of Community Mental Health Centers of Kansas, Inc.
534 S Kansas, Suite 330
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: 785-234-4773
Mike Hammond, Executive Director
mhammond@acmhck.org
www.acmhck.org
 

 

Mental Health Association of South Central Kansas
555 N. Woodlawn, Suite 3105
Wichita, KS 67208
(316) 685-1821
www.mhasck.org

 

Autism Alliance of Greater Kansas City
P.O. Box 45664
Kansas City, MO 64171
816-842-2452 or 816-460-2502
www.autismalliancekc.org

 

Brain Injury Association of Kansas and Greater Kansas City
6405 Metcalf Ave, Suite 302
Overland Park, KS 66202
913-754-8883
800-444-6443
Betsy Johnson, Executive Director
info@biaks.org
www.biaks.org

 

Epilepsy Foundation of Kansas and Western Missouri
6550 Troost, Suite 316
Kansas City, MO 64131-1272
(816) 444-2800; (800) 972-5163
Carol Vaughn, Director of Education
cvaughn@efha.org
www.efha.org

 

Learning Disabilities Association of Kansas
P.O. Box 4603
Olathe, KS 66063
Cindy Swarner, President
cindyswarner@smsd.org
http://ldakansas.org

 

back to top

 

Family Organizations 
 

Families Together
3033 W. Second, Suite 106
Wichita, KS 67203
(316) 945-7747; (877) 499-5369 (Kansas City)
(888) 815-6364 (Wichita); (800) 264-6343 (Topeka)
(888) 820-6364 (Garden City)
Connie Zienkewicz, Executive Director
wichita@familiestogetherinc.org
www.familiestogetherinc.org

 

Keys for Networking
211 SW 33rd Street
Topeka, KS 66612-1816
(785) 233-8732
Jane Adams, Executive Director
jadams@keys.org
www.keys.org

 

back to top

 

Organizations for Children
 

 The Capper Foundation- Easter Seals
3500 SW 10th Ave.
Topeka, KS 66604-1995
(785) 272-4060
Jim Lieker, President & CEO
http://capper.easterseals.com

 

KDHE- Services for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs
Department of Health and Environment
1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 220
Topeka, KS 66612-1274
(785) 296-1313; (800) 332-6262 (toll free)
Marc Shiff, Director
mshiff@kdheks.gov
www.kdheks.gov/cyshcn
www.systemsinsync.org

 

Kansas Federation of the Council for Exceptional Children
(888) CEC-SPED
Annette Gaitan, President
annettegtn851@gmail.com
www..kansascec.org
 

 

back to top

 

Mentoring Programs
 

 Disability Mentoring Day
(800) 295-5232 toll free
Kerrie Bacon, Employment Liaison
kbacon@kcdcinfo.com
www.kcdcinfo.com/dmd

 

Kansas Mentors
1000 SW Jackson, Ste 540
Topeka, KS 66612
(785) 296-8873
mentor@kdheks.gov
www.kansasmentors.org

 

back to top

 

Adapted Sports Organizations

 

Kansas Accessible Sports
Jarvis Stirn, Team Rep
785-843-0144
wildhawk@hotmail.com
www.kansasaccessiblesports.com

 

Wheelchair Sports, Inc.
3033 W 2nd St. North.
Wichita, KS 67203
Wayne Romero, President
http://wsi.wcsports.org

 

Sunflower Boccia
2337 SW Ashworth Place
Topeka, KS 66619
(785) 272-5754
Cathy and Bill Drobny
cdrobny@cox.net

 

Missouri Valley Kansas Tennis
Connie Robertson, Adaptive Tennis Representative
(785) 887-6730
crobertson@movalley.usta.com
www.missourivalley.usta.com

 

Special Olympics Kansas
5280 Foxridge Drive
Mission, KS 66202
(913) 236-9290
Chris Hahn, President/CEO
hahnc@ksso.org
www.ksso.org

 

Groovability- wheelchair ballroom dancing
JoAnne Fluke, Executive Director
785.248.3023
jojopooh76@yahoo.com
www.groovability.org

 

Accessible Arts, Inc.
1100 State Avenue
Kansas City, KS 66102
(913) 281-1133
Emily Vowiell, Executive Director
evowiell@accessiblearts.org
www.accessiblearts.org

 

back to top

 

National Disability Organizations

 

National Council on Independent Living (NCIL)
1710 Rhode Island Ave, NW, 5th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 207-0334 (VOICE)
(202) 207-0340 (TTY)
(877) 525-3400 (TOLL FREE)
Kelly Buckland, Executive Director
kelly@ncil.org
www.ncil.org

 

Association of Programs for Rural Independent Living (APRIL)
2001 Pershing Circle, Suite 200
North Little Rock, AR 72114
501-753-3400 Voice
501-753-3406 FAX
Billy Altom, Executive Director
bwaltom@sbcglobal.net
www.april-rural.org

 

American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD)
1629 K Street NW, Suite 950
Washington, DC 20006
202-457-0046 (V/TTY)
800-840-8844 (Toll Free V/TTY)
Andrew J. Imparato, President/CEO
www.aapd-dc.org

 

National Organization on Disability (NOD)
5 East 86th Street
New York, NY 10028 
646-505-1191
Carol Glazer, President
glazerc@nod.org
www.nod.org

 

National Council on Disability (NCD)
1331 F Street, NW, Suite 850
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 272-2004 (VOICE)
(202) 272-2074 (TTY)
ncd@ncd.gov
www.ncd.gov

 

World Institute on Disability (WID)
510 16th Street, Suite 100
Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 763-4100 (VOICE)
(510) 208-9496 (TTY)
Anita Shafer Aaron, Executive Director
anita@wid.org
www.wid.org

 

back to top

 

Youth Disability Organizations

 

 Association of Youth Leadership Forums (AYLF)
(406) 442-2576 (Voice/TDD)
June Hermanson, Chair
mylfjuneh@bresnan.net
http://aylf.net
 

 

National Youth Leadership Network (NYLN)
866-480-6565 toll free
Betsy Valnes, Executive Director
bvalnes@tie.net
www.nyln.org

 

Kids As Self Advocates (KASA)
(888) 835-5669
Naomi Ortiz, Project Director
info@fvkasa.org
www.fvkasa.org

 

National Disabled Students Union (NDSU)
www.disabledstudents.org

 

National Collaborative on Workforce and Disability for Youth
c/o Institute for Educational Leadership
4455 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 310
Washington, DC 20008
(877) 871-0744 (Toll Free)
(877) 871-0665 (Toll Free TTY)
www.ncwd-youth.info

 

National Consortium on Leadership and Disability for Youth
c/o Institute for Educational Leadership
4455 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 310
Washington, DC 20008
(877) 871-0744 (Toll Free)
(877) 871-0665 (Toll Free TTY)
www.ncld-youth.info 

 

back to top

 

Advocacy Organizations

 

ADAPT
adapt@adapt.org
www.adapt.org

 

back to top