State and National Contacts

Contacts in Kansas

Independent Living Centers
State Disability Organizations
Assistive Technology Resources
Disability-Specific Organizations
Family Organizations
Organizations for Children
Mentoring Programs
Adapted Sports Organizations

 

National Resources 

National Disability Organizations
Youth Disability Organizations
Advocacy Organizations

 

Independent Living Centers
 

LINK, Inc.
2401 E. 13th
Hays, KS 67601
785-625-6942 (V/TDD)
785-625-2334 (FAX)
1-800-569-5926
Angie Zimmerman, Executive Director
angiez@linkinc.org

 

Independent Connection
436 S. Ohio
Salina, KS 67401
785-452-9580
785-515-2190 (FAX)
Kristi Marco, Executive Director
kmarco@indconnectinc.com

 

Three Rivers, Inc.
PO Box 408, 504 Miller Dr.
Wamego, KS 66547
785-456-9915 (V/TDD)
785-456-9923 (FAX)
1-800-555-3994
Audrey Schremmer-Phillip, Executive Director
Audrey@threeriversinc.org

 

Topeka Independent Living Resource Center
501 S.W. Jackson, #100
Topeka, KS 66603
785-233-4572 (V/TDD)
785-233-1561 (FAX)
1-800-443-2207
Ami Hyten, Executive Director
ahyten@tilrc.org

 

Independence, Inc.
2001 Haskell
Lawrence, KS 66046
785-841-0333 (V)
785-841-1046 (TDD)
785-841-1094 (FAX)
1-888-824-7277
Jill Enyart, Executive Director
jenyart@independenceinc.org

 

The Whole Person
8040 Parallel Pkwy, Suite 300
Kansas City, KS 66112
913-871-4188
Julie DeJean, Chief Executive Officer
jdejean@thewholeperson.org

 

Resource Center for Independent Living
P.O. Box 257, 1137 Laing St.
Osage City, KS 66523
785-528-3105 (V)
785-528-3106 (TDD)
785-528-3665 (FAX)
1-800-580-7245
Deone Wilson, Executive Director
deone@rcilinc.org

 

Independent Living Resource Center
3033 W. 2nd
Wichita, KS 67203
316-942-6300 (V/TDD)
316-942-6861 (FAX)
1-800-479-6861
Cindi Unruh, Executive Director
cunruh@ilrcks.org

 

SKIL Resource Center
P.O. Box 957, 1801 Main Street
Parsons, KS 67357
620-421-5502 (V)
620-421-6551 (TDD)
620-421-3705 (FAX)
1-800-688-5616
Shari Coatney, Executive Director
sharic@skilonline.com

 

Prairie Independent Living Resource Center
17 S. Main
Hutchinson, KS 67501
620-663-3989 (V)
620-663-9920 (TDD)
620-663-4711 (FAX)
1-888-715-6818
Chris Owens, Executive Director
cowens@pilr.org

 

Statewide Independent Living Council of Kansas (SILCK)
420 S.E. 6th Ave., Suite 2000
Topeka, KS 66607
785-234-6990
Kathy Cooper, Executive Director
Kathy.cooper@silck.org 

 

back to top

 

State Disability Organizations
 

Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns
900 SW Jackson St. Room 100A
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1246
(800) 295-5232 Toll free
711 for Relay Service
Martha Gabehart, Executive Director
mgabehart@kcdcinfo.com
www.kcdcinfo.ks.gov

 

Disability Rights Center
214 SW 6th Ave., Suite 100
Topeka, KS 66603
(785) 273-9661; (877) 776-1541
Rocky Nichols, Executive Director
info@drckansas.org
www.drckansas.org

 

Kansas Rehabilitation Services
Department for Children and Families
555 S. Kansas, 3rd Floor
Topeka, KS 66603
785-368-7471
Peg Spencer, Acting Director
www.dcf.ks.gov/services/RS/Pages/RScontacts.aspx

 

Kansas State Department of Education- Special Education/Transition Services
Student Support Services- KSDE
120 S.E. 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612
Bert Moore, Director
(785) 291-3097
https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Division-of-Learning-Services/Special-Education-and-Title-Services/Special-Education

 

The Big Tent Coalition
www.bigtentcoalition.org

 

Interhab
700 SW Jackson, Suite 1100
Topeka, KS 66603
(785) 235-5103
Matt Fletcher, Executive Director
mfletcher@interhab.org
www.interhab.org

 

back to top

 

Assistive Technology Resources
 

K-Loan
PO Box D
Parsons, KS 67357
620-421-6554
866-465-2826 Toll free
Jeanette Graue
jeanetteg@skilonline.com
www.k-loan.net

 

Assistive Technology for Kansans
800-526-3648
Sara Sack, Director
ssack@ku.edu
www.atk.ku.edu

 

back to top

 

Disability-Specific Organizations
 

Kansas Council on Developmental Disabilities
Landon State Office Building
900 SW Jackson, Room 569
Topeka, KS 66612
(785) 296-2608
(877) 431-4604 Toll-Free
Steve Gieber, Executive Director
sgieber@kcdd.org
www.kcdd.org

 

Kansas University Center on Developmental Disabilities
University of Kansas
1052 Robert Dole Human Development Center
1000 Sunnyside Avenue
Lawrence, KS 66045
(785) 864-4295; (785) 864-5051 (TTY)
Michael Wehmeyer, Director
wehmeyer@ku.edu
www2.ku.edu/~kucdd/index.shtml

 

Self-Advocate Coalition of Kansas
2518 Ridge Court #236
Lawrence, KS 66046
785-749-5588 (local)
1-888-354-7225 (toll free)
Stephanie Sanford, Director
www.sackonline.org

 

Down Syndrome Guild of Greater Kansas City
5960 Dearborn Street, Suite 100
Mission, KS 66202
913-384-4848
info@kcdsg.org
www.kcdsg.org

 

Kansas State School for the Blind
1100 State Avenue
Kansas City, Kansas 66102
913-305-3000; (800) 572-5463
Jon Harding, Superintendent
jharding@kssdb.org
www.kssb.net

 

Kansas State School for the Deaf
450 E. Park St
Olathe, KS 66061
913-210-8200
Luanne Barron, Superintendent
www.ksdeaf.org

Kansas Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Department for Children and Families Administration Building
555 S. Kansas, 3rd Floor
Topeka, KS 66603
800-432-0698 Toll free
785-368-8034
Robert Cooper, Executive Director
http://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/RS/Pages/KCDHH.aspx

 

Cerebral Palsy Research Foundation of Kansas
5111 East 21st Street N.
Wichita, KS 67208
(316) 688-1888
info@cprf.org
www.cprf.org

 

United Cerebral Palsy of Kansas
5111 E. 21st Street
Wichita, KS 67208
(316) 688-1888
Dave Jones, Executive Director
Davej@ucpks.org
www.ucp.org

 

Ms. Wheelchair Kansas
785-267-5982
Carrie Greenwood, State Coordinator
mswheelchairkansas@yahoo.com
www.mswheelchairkansas.org

 

Spina Bifida Kansas City
P.O. Box 901383
Kansas City, Missouri 64190
816.277.9087
info@sbkc.org
www.sbkc.org

 

NAMI Kansas
1801 SW Wanamaker Rd., Unit G6
Topeka, KS  66604.
785-233-0755
Sherrie Vaughn, Executive Director
info@namikansas.org
https://namikansas.org

 

Association of Community Mental Health Centers of Kansas, Inc.
534 S Kansas, Suite 330
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: 785-234-4773
Kyle Kessler, Executive Director
kkessler@acmhck.org
www.acmhck.org
 

 

Mental Health Association of South Central Kansas
555 N. Woodlawn, Suite 3105
Wichita, KS 67208
(316) 685-1821
info@mhasck.org
www.mhasck.org

 

Autism Society - The Heartland
The University of Kansas- Edwards Campus
12600 Quivira Rd.
Regnier Hall, Suite 270A
Overland Park, KS 66213
913-706-0042
info@asaheartland.org
www.asaheartland.org

 

Brain Injury Association of Kansas and Greater Kansas City
6701 W. 64th St., Suite 120
Overland Park, KS 66202
913-754-8883
Robin Abramowitz, Executive Director
rabramowitz@biasks.org
http://biaks.org

 

Epilepsy Foundation of Missouri and Kansas
2340 E Meyer Blvd, Bldg. 1, Suite 300B
Kansas City, Missouri 64132
(816) 444-2800 or (844) 415-7152
epilepsy@efmk.org
https://efmk.org/

 

back to top

 

Family Organizations 
 

Families Together
3033 W. Second, Suite 122
Wichita, KS 67203
(316) 945-7747; (888) 815-6364 (Wichita);
(800) 264-6343 (Topeka); (888) 820-6364 (Garden City)
Tami Allen and Leslie Girard, Executive Directors
wichita@familiestogetherinc.org
www.familiestogetherinc.org

 

Keys for Networking
211 SW 33rd Street
Topeka, KS 66612-1816
(785) 233-8732
Jane Adams, Executive Director
jadams@keys.org
www.keys.org

 

back to top

 

Organizations for Children
 

 The Capper Foundation- Easter Seals
3500 SW 10th Ave.
Topeka, KS 66604-1995
(785) 272-4060
Jim Lieker, President & CEO
http://capper.easterseals.com

 

KDHE- Services for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs
Department of Health and Environment
1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 220
Topeka, KS 66612-1274
(785) 296-1313; (800) 332-6262 (toll free)
Marc Shiff, Director
mshiff@kdheks.gov
www.kdheks.gov/cyshcn
www.systemsinsync.org

 

Kansas Federation of the Council for Exceptional Children
(888) CEC-SPED
Annette Gaitan, President
annettegtn851@gmail.com
www..kansascec.org
 

 

back to top

 

Mentoring Programs
 

 Disability Mentoring Day
(800) 295-5232 toll free
Kerrie Bacon, Employment Liaison
kbacon@kcdcinfo.com
www.kcdcinfo.com/dmd

 

Kansas Mentors
1000 SW Jackson, Ste 540
Topeka, KS 66612
(785) 296-8873
mentor@kdheks.gov
www.kansasmentors.org

 

back to top

 

Adapted Sports Organizations

 

Kansas Accessible Sports
Jarvis Stirn, Team Rep
785-843-0144
wildhawk@hotmail.com
www.kansasaccessiblesports.com

 

Wheelchair Sports, Inc.
3033 W 2nd St. North.
Wichita, KS 67203
Wayne Romero, President
http://wsi.wcsports.org

 

Sunflower Boccia
2337 SW Ashworth Place
Topeka, KS 66619
(785) 272-5754
Cathy and Bill Drobny
cdrobny@cox.net

 

Missouri Valley Kansas Tennis
Connie Robertson, Adaptive Tennis Representative
(785) 887-6730
crobertson@movalley.usta.com
www.missourivalley.usta.com

 

Special Olympics Kansas
5280 Foxridge Drive
Mission, KS 66202
(913) 236-9290
Chris Hahn, President/CEO
hahnc@ksso.org
www.ksso.org

 

Groovability- wheelchair ballroom dancing
JoAnne Fluke, Executive Director
785.248.3023
jojopooh76@yahoo.com
www.groovability.org

 

Accessible Arts, Inc.
1100 State Avenue
Kansas City, KS 66102
(913) 281-1133
Emily Vowiell, Executive Director
evowiell@accessiblearts.org
www.accessiblearts.org

 

back to top

 

National Disability Organizations

 

National Council on Independent Living (NCIL)
1710 Rhode Island Ave, NW, 5th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 207-0334 (VOICE)
(202) 207-0340 (TTY)
(877) 525-3400 (TOLL FREE)
Kelly Buckland, Executive Director
kelly@ncil.org
www.ncil.org

 

Association of Programs for Rural Independent Living (APRIL)
2001 Pershing Circle, Suite 200
North Little Rock, AR 72114
501-753-3400 Voice
501-753-3406 FAX
Billy Altom, Executive Director
bwaltom@sbcglobal.net
www.april-rural.org

 

American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD)
1629 K Street NW, Suite 950
Washington, DC 20006
202-457-0046 (V/TTY)
800-840-8844 (Toll Free V/TTY)
Andrew J. Imparato, President/CEO
www.aapd-dc.org

 

National Organization on Disability (NOD)
5 East 86th Street
New York, NY 10028 
646-505-1191
Carol Glazer, President
glazerc@nod.org
www.nod.org

 

National Council on Disability (NCD)
1331 F Street, NW, Suite 850
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 272-2004 (VOICE)
(202) 272-2074 (TTY)
ncd@ncd.gov
www.ncd.gov

 

World Institute on Disability (WID)
510 16th Street, Suite 100
Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 763-4100 (VOICE)
(510) 208-9496 (TTY)
Anita Shafer Aaron, Executive Director
anita@wid.org
www.wid.org

 

back to top

 

Youth Disability Organizations

 

 Association of Youth Leadership Forums (AYLF)
(406) 442-2576 (Voice/TDD)
June Hermanson, Chair
mylfjuneh@bresnan.net
http://aylf.net
 

 

National Youth Leadership Network (NYLN)
866-480-6565 toll free
Betsy Valnes, Executive Director
bvalnes@tie.net
www.nyln.org

 

Kids As Self Advocates (KASA)
(888) 835-5669
Naomi Ortiz, Project Director
info@fvkasa.org
www.fvkasa.org

 

National Disabled Students Union (NDSU)
www.disabledstudents.org

 

National Collaborative on Workforce and Disability for Youth
c/o Institute for Educational Leadership
4455 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 310
Washington, DC 20008
(877) 871-0744 (Toll Free)
(877) 871-0665 (Toll Free TTY)
www.ncwd-youth.info

 

National Consortium on Leadership and Disability for Youth
c/o Institute for Educational Leadership
4455 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 310
Washington, DC 20008
(877) 871-0744 (Toll Free)
(877) 871-0665 (Toll Free TTY)
www.ncld-youth.info 

 

back to top

 

Advocacy Organizations

 

ADAPT
adapt@adapt.org
www.adapt.org

 

back to top